Breaking News

Ogun State College of Health Technology, Ilese-Ijebu was established on 28th September, 1976 as a School under a department in the Ministry of Health during the Military Administration of Col. Saidu Balogun At-inception, the institution was located temporarily at Itamogiri in Ijebu East Local Government in 1982. The primary objective of the College is to train middle level manpower for the delivery of Primary Health Care services for the State. Interestingly, the College has since surpassed this mandate by providing quality health care workers for primary, secondary and tertiary health care delivery system not only for Ogun State but also for neighbouring states and federal institutions.

Being the first tertiary institution in the State, its general importance to the overall primary health care delivery in the State, as well as being the single largest producer of primary health care workers accounting for over ninety percent (90%) of the total health manpower needs of the twenty local governments in the State; the impact of its contribution to primary health care spurred the state government to upgrade it to a College with polytechnic status and the required Legislation House Bill number 27 was enacted and signed by the then Governor of the State. The Law is cited as Ogun State College of Health Technology Law, 2004 as amended in 2008.

The College occupies a wide expanse of land from Ilese township road, almost reaching the Sagamu-Benin express road. This gives ample room for expansion and development.

The College has had a total of twelve (12) Principals with Dr. Adetunji Dawodu, JP been the pioneer Provost following its upgrading to full Polytechnic. They are listed below:

1 Dr. V.B Odunlami 1976 – 1978

Dr. O. Olasimbo 1978 – 1979
3 Dr. Laide Rufai 1979 – 1981
4 Mr. J.A Oresanya 1982 – 1986
5 Dr. Korede Alabi 1987 – 1989
6 Dr. B.O Banmeke 1989 – 1993
7 Mrs. O.M Awolesi 1993 – 1995
8 Dr. Fola Osibogun 1995 – 2003
9 Mr. G.A Olanade 2003 – 2004
10 Dr. Ladi Sotimehin 2004 – 2005
11 Mrs. F.O Okusanya 2005 – 2006
12 Dr. Adetunji Dawodu, JP 2006 – 2014The Pioneering Provost
13 Dr. Abiodun Oluwole Oladunjoye 2014 – till date